Posted by: davflamerock | May 15, 2014

The Bulwark of the West

Been a while since I’ve been by here. No need to get too much into things, except to say that post-college life is more time-consuming than you’d think, especially when you have to find jobs. That, plus the fact that the local game store is very Magic/Warhammer/Warmachine/Living Card Game-heavy means not much time has been spent painting or roleplaying. Oh, I’ve been working on writing a couple adventures for Call of Cthulhu, but there’s no really good D&D out here or Dark Heresy or anything to actually play. To make my efforts less focused, I’ve been taking this whole “game-design” passion of mine more seriously, so I’ve also been tinkering with making my own board & card games. So things for the blog have been very quiet.

However, I was fortunate that a member of The One Ring forums lives in Worcester… and I’ve been able to get some regular LotR SBG in after all! So don’t be surprised to see some battle reports in the future (and he’s much more into the hobby than I am, and I’m constantly impressed by the terrain and paint work he’s done. When he completes his current big project, I’ll be sure to post pictures of them (with his permission, of course).

But that’s not why you came here! You came here for this!

For Gondor!

"Believe not that in the land of Gondor the blood of Numenor is spent, nor all its pride and dignity forgotten." - Boromir, the Fellowship of the Ring

“Believe not that in the land of Gondor the blood of Numenor is spent, nor all its pride and dignity forgotten.” – Boromir, the Fellowship of the Ring

Soldiers of Minas Tirith Soldiers of Minas Tirith Soldiers of Minas Tirith

The part I didn’t mention is that I also haven’t been posting my painting work because I’ve been wanting to save up and put the entire Minas Tirith legion I finally finished up at once. Between inheriting my friend’s Gondor soldiers and my own significant collection, I’ve ended up with almost fifty models that were either poorly-painted (he and I painted ours many many years ago) or not painted at all, so it’s been a bit of a haul getting them all looking like proper soldiers. Obviously it can be somewhat grueling to go through so many basically identical models, but I do love getting to see a whole company of units all looking good together on the table. Also make for excellent guards/soldiers in D&D and other fantasy RPGs.

For Gondor!

For Gondor!

Minas Tirith Archers

Closeup on the Captain of the Guard

Closeup on the Captain of the Guard

Some closeups on the banner.

Some closeups on the banner.

This was actually printed and then glued into place, using Elmers Glue-All to coat the banner and give it shape.

This was actually printed and then glued into place, using Elmers Glue-All to coat the banner and give it shape.

But I’ve got other models I’ve been working on in breaks from the soldiers of Gondor, and I’ll put some of them up in the next couple days. Also, after some tinkering last night I pulled together a scheme for my Guards of the Fountain Court that I like, so here’s a preview for some models I hope to finish tonight…

Closeup of Boromir

Closeup of Boromir

Boromir Back Boromir Side

More coming soon!

More coming soon!

See you next time!

Responses

  1. Your Painting is superb! Especially those eyes!


Leave a Reply

Categories