Posted by: davflamerock | September 16, 2013

MiniFlamerock Episode IV: A New Hope

Welcome Back

To what viewers I have, welcome back. It’s taken some work on my end getting settled in a new place, especially since I haven’t had any luck getting a job worked out until recently. Nothing yet, but actual leads are promising! This has given me a lot of free time but also not a lot of focus, and so it hasn’t been until recently that I’ve gotten some painting projects finished and spent some time figuring out what to do with this blog.

This blog was originally started as a place where I could post pictures of the miniatures I painted and where I could talk about miniature wargaming—a type of gaming that is very fun, if not something you can do terribly often (unless you play Warhammer 40k, apparently). Obviously my passion is geared largely towards the Lord of the Rings Strategy Battle Game (now The Hobbit Strategy Battle Game) but frankly that’s a very niche game, and most of my friends don’t play it. I’ve been told there actually are some people that attend the local game stores here that do play it—they ran a large demo of the game at TJ Collectibles a couple weeks ago—but I don’t know who they are or how to get in touch with them. I’ll let you know when I do!

Because I don’t do a lot of wargaming, my miniatures have been used recently more by roleplaying games than on a tabletop battlefield—and this means that this blog has had a fair amount of roleplaying content in addition to tabletop wargaming. And surprise surprise, I have a lot more friends who play D&D than I do who play LotR SBG, so it turns out that content is content that is more interesting to my immediate audience!

Finally, I know how important predictability is in following something (Wizards of the Coast is great about this… Fantasy Flight Games not so much), so I’ve been wanting to get a regular post schedule up. What this means is that I’m going to make this blog dedicated to both tabletop wargaming and RPG writing equally, obviously with lots of pictures scattered throughout of painted models. That way I get to have a strong voice on the blog (that it’s not just a photo gallery) and I have enough that I can post one post a week about tabletop wargaming, roleplaying games, or the hobby (modeling, painting, etc), so this blog will update every MONDAY. This is the first post of the new pattern (I actually wrote this post over the weekend), and now you can look forward to a regular update schedule, both so you have some expectations and so I have more incentive to keep burning through my limitless collection :p

Alright, Alright, We Get it, You’re Giving Some Focus to the Blog. Where’s the Content At?

Why, thank you for asking! As I said, I’ve been doing a fair amount of painting recently, so now I’m going to start sharing it. It’s taken a lot longer than I hoped, considering how large the party was and how little time I had last year and over the summer to do it, but I’ve managed to finally get the entire party of customized miniatures we got for last year’s D&D group painted up and looking great. This week I intend to spray them with a few layers of sealer so nobody has to worry about paint chipping (something I think I’d like to start doing more, now that I’m spending a lot more time & effort on my painting). In the meantime, here’s the full gallery of the player characters.

The Party

Another Image of the whole party together

Another image of the whole party together

Milo Khazarad

Caption

Milo Khazarad, our dwarf mechanist

Caption

Caption

Oldrian of Instag

Our resident half-elven ranger, Oldrian.

Oldrian, the half-elven ranger and hypersorcerer

Oldrian Back

Oldrian's Owl animal companion, Locke!

And Locke, Oldrian’s faithful animal companion

Carter & Amora Hitchin

Carter and his small serpent familiar, Koia

Carter and his small serpent familiar, Koia

Caption

Caption

And his twin sister, Amora the fighter

And his twin sister, Amora the fighter

Caption

Caption

Chava Bhairravi

Chava Bhairravi, the young, impulsive thief

Chava Bhairravi, the young, impulsive thief

Caption

Caption

Yantse the Anansi

The unofficial leader of the party, and now the Chancellor of Illos... Yantse the Anansi

The unofficial leader of the party, and now the Chancellor of Illos… Yantse the Anansi

Caption

Caption

Hall, Yantse’s Guardian

Yanse's staunch guardian, and a cohort who became his own character

Yanse’s staunch guardian, and a cohort who became his own character

Caption

Herren “Akorn” Oakbreaker

Akorn's front

Akorn, the dwarf rogue and assassin, now the Royal Spymaster

Our other dwarf, the beloved Akorn. This rogue decided to evolve into something of a lethal assassin.

Akorn side-shot.

Tero, the Necromancer

The titular Necromancer of Illos, the teenage Tero

The titular Necromancer of Illos, the teenage Tero

Caption

Kara, Angel of Chaos

Kara, an angel from Carter & Amora's world, and a cleric with a silver tongue.

Kara, an angel from Carter & Amora’s world, and a cleric with a silver tongue.

Caption

Kieran & Cyw

Kieran, the Wanderer.

Kieran, the Wanderer.

To go with Kieran, the last druid, is his animal companion Cyw

To go with Kieran, the last druid, is his animal companion Cyw

Kieran & Cyw

Thanks for viewing! These minis were a very long project, but they were fun and more than worth the time and effort. I hope their players like them!

Come back next time to see more painted models… with a twist!

Leave a Reply

Categories