Posted by: davflamerock | December 6, 2012

An Impending Reaping

Check out what arrived last week!

The regular Sophie is for my roommate

The regular Sophie is for my roommate

The first wave of Reaper’s Kickstarter minis is out, with the Bones still scheduled to be sent out in March. Unfortunately they had to delay all the paint shipments because there were just too many people (17,000 backers @_@) but I don’t need the paints I’ll be getting just yet. However, this is a pretty sweet limited-edition model, & I’m certainly looking forward to painting it.

However, I also placed an order from Reaper recently for myself and my girlfriend, and they arrived too! So here’s a gallery of the new models that I’ve received. For my girlfriend, we have the fourth member of her “Four Sisters” group (the bard) and a character she made named Misuka (who is the angel of death). Misuka isn’t fully converted yet, but she will have a scythe and wings rather than her sword. For me, there are a couple Mythos Monsters (because, Lovecraft) and a few sweet hero models I wanted to pick up just to paint. Enjoy!

Sophie

Urban Legends (naked) Sophie, who will be assembled to the bike when she's painted

Urban Legends Sophie, who will be assembled to the bike when she’s painted

Sophie's Bike, which will be assembled once it's painted

Sophie’s Bike, which will be assembled once it’s painted

Misuka & Four Sisters

Misuka, the Angel of Death

Misuka, the Angel of Death

Misuka and her HUEG SCYTHE

Misuka and her HUEG SCYTHE

The "Four Sisters," now all together

The “Four Sisters,” now all together: Ueseta, Erusa, Siru (new), and Kita

Mythos Monsters & New Heroes

Reaper's new Hound of Tindalos model, alongside a Baby 'thulhu!

Reaper’s new Hound of Tindalos model, alongside a Baby ‘thulhu!

The new heroes for me to paint: a steampunk dude, a posh thief, and a pirate duelist

The new heroes for me to paint: a steampunk dude, a posh thief, and a pirate duelist

Meta PostScript

Before I end this post, I want to mention a couple things. First, there are other models I’ve received but haven’t finished assembling yet: I picked up on a deal a bunch of Mordor Uruk-Hai and Moria Goblins, so I’ve acquired an instant Moria army for the LotR Strategy Battle Game. The Uruk-Hai actually came from a company called Wargames Factory, who have a good box of 24 Orc Warriors, but who are slightly larger than the Games Workshop models and so work perfectly for uruk-hai. Most importantly, they price their models the way models should be priced, which is to say it’s $20 for 24 plastic warrior models, rather than GW’s awful pricing of $24 for 12 of the same kind of models. And this is why I won’t be getting any Hobbit models for myself, except for cheaps on EBay.

I also went back a couple posts and updated my D&D SBG post to include close-up pictures of all of the player characters, even though they’re not painted yet. I’ll swap those out once I get new primer and paint them up. So check out the custom D&D models if you want!

Leave a Reply

Categories